Presented to the 99th Annual General Meeting

2018 Executive Compensation Committee (ECC) Report to the AGM as of October 11, 2018.  

The ECC is pleased to report the successful completion of its three-year work plan (2016-2018), as previously approved by the Board. 

During 2018, the ECC completed the Triennial Review for the positions of President and Vice-Presidents as per the PIPSC By-Laws and Regulations, with the changes to be implemented effective January 1, 2018.   This Triennial Review included a comprehensive update of the Policy on President and Vice-Presidents and the implementation of job descriptions with service contracts for these five elected positions.  The updated Policy, new job descriptions and service contracts can be found on the PIPSC website.  This was the culmination of an extensive review of previous feedback and reports at the Institute; best practices from other organizations and unions; and, expert advice from compensation specialists and labour lawyers.  The committee would like to thank the work of McConnell and Associates and Norton Rose Fulbright.  This evidence based approach was based on sound and modern compensation principles and philosophies that ensures clear and transparent expectations for our future Presidents and Vice-Presidents.

In addition, this year saw the completion of the Triennial Review for all Institute Chiefs.  As well, under the oversight of the ECC, the Chief Operating Officer & Executive Secretary completed the Triennial Review for all excluded staff below the level of Chief.  The ECC completed its review of the Authority of the Executive Committee (EC), with the Board accepting all of its recommendations.

All work conducted by the Committee was performed according to its approved Terms of Reference and mandate and the approved three-year work plan.  All information produced by the Committee was provided to the Board of Directors for their approval. 

I would like to sincerely thank the ECC members Nancy McCune, Yvon Brodeur, Del Dickson and Greg Scriver and our staff resources, Patrizia Campanella, Peter Nunan and Eddie Gillis, for their assistance and dedication to the Committee and its work.

In Solidarity

Robert K. MacDonald, B.A., MRM

Chair, Executive Compensation Committee