Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC)

Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) – Scientific and Analytical Sub-Group

Québec Region


(Translated from French)


Subject: Notice of Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The Executive Committee (EC) of the CFIA-S&A Sub-Group invites you to the AGM which will be held on Thursday, February 22, 2024, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. in virtual mode. 

To take part in the Zoom meeting, please register by following this link:

Once you have registered, you will receive a confirmation e-mail with instructions on how to join the meeting.



  1. Roll call (check-in)
  2. Adoption of the Agenda
  3. Action items and approval of the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting
  4. Report of the President
  5. Annual financial report and budget approval
  6. Elections
  7. Guest speaker - SR classification and the state of collective bargaining

8.0 New Business, including By-Law Amendments

    1. Informative pension conferences — coming soon
    2. Limitation periods for overpayments
    3. Where to read the minutes of union-management consultations
    4. Management of the EC agent (social, visibility, etc.)
    5. Recruitment for EC involvement


The last AGM was held on Thursday, January 26, 2023. Please note that no room has been reserved in the CFIA’s local offices, for the AGM.

The Executive Committee (EC) consists of only five (5) people, whereas our By-Laws provide for a maximum of nine (9) people on the EC. It should be noted that Judith Gagnon will be stepping down from her position on the EC after many years as a member of union life at CFIA. There is room for those who would like to get involved and want to keep alive this Committee that is working to defend our rights.

Information related to the election process is presented below. Those interested in serving on the EC are invited to read it.

We look forward to seeing you there!


The Executive Committee of the CFIA-S&A Québec Sub-Group

Hugo Fréchette, President

Nathalie Langlois, Vice-President

Judith Gagnon, Treasurer

Julie Bourque, Secretary

Nathalie Sauvageau, steward and member-at-large



Election Committee

Isabelle Woolgar has agreed to act as the Election Chair.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must be submitted in writing to Isabelle Woolgar ( no later than midnight Eastern Time on February 20, 2024.  It is very important that you mention your region of work: (Montréal, Saint-Hyacinthe or Québec City.)  These are not the administrative “Regions” but the physical locations of your home office.

After this date, if there are not enough candidates for all the vacant positions, the members who submitted their nomination in time shall be acclaimed.  At the AGM, the Elections Committee will seek names of other people who are willing and able to serve in the remaining positions.

Important: Because members of the Sub-Group Executive are required to participate in consultations with the employer, a member who wishes to be a candidate for or continue to serve on the Executive must be, or wish to become, a steward.

Method of Election

If elections are required, they will be conducted by secret ballot at the AGM.  Attendance is mandatory for voting, as it is not possible to vote in advance or through a third party.  The exact operation of the ballot will be explained on site.

Positions to elect

The new By-Laws of the Sub-Group state that the Sub-Group Executive shall consist of, to the extent possible:

 of one (1) member who works in the Montreal region;

 of one (1) member who works in the Saint-Hyacinthe region;

 of one (1) member who works in the Québec City region;

 of six (6) members-at-large.


The positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer shall be filled by members who are elected at the very beginning of the first meeting of the new Executive.

The terms of office granted to elected members at the AGM shall be two (2) years.

At the last AGM, the final picture was as follows:

 Montreal region = Nathalie Langlois (2-year term)

 Québec City region = Judith Gagnon (1-year term)

 Saint-Hyacinthe region = Hugo Fréchette (2-year term)

 Active member = Julie Bourque (2-year term)

 Other positions (5x) = vacancies

In 2023, Nathalie Sauvageau was recruited to the EC and completed her training as a union steward. As she was not elected as such, her position is up for election this year.

The final picture is therefore as follows:

 Montreal region = Nathalie Langlois (1 year left on her 2-year term)

 St-Hyacinthe region = Hugo Fréchette (up for election, 2-year term)

 Québec City region = Judith Gagnon (end of 1-year term, position vacant upon election)

 Member-at-Large #1 = Julie Bourque (1 year remaining on her 2-year term)

 6 Members-at-Large (open for election: one (1) two (2) year term and five (5) one (1) year terms


Publishing Date: February 1st, 2024

Registration information will be emailed to members with a registration deadline of Thursday, February 22, 2024 at 6 p.m. ET.  Login details will be sent to all registered members by e-mail afterwards.