Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Saguenay/Lac-Saint-Jean and Côte-Nord Branch

Tuesday, April 25, 2023, 5:30 p.m. at Bistrot Bar la Fonderie

In attendance: Mr. Kaven Landry (President)

Ms. Valérie Ringuette-Lapointe (Vice-president)

Mr. Sébastien Chouinard (Treasurer)

Mr. Pascal Bourgeois (Secretary)

Ms. Christine Tremblay (Director)

Mr. Stéphane Demers (Director)

Mr. David Claveau (Director)

Mr. Steeve Tremblay (Director)

Mr. Maxime Tremblay (Director)


Resignation: Ms. Roxanne Côté (Director)

                     Ms. Joëlle Blanchette (Director)

Total members/guests present: 56

The meeting started at 6:00 p.m.

  1. Roll Call (Members of the Executive)

The President, Kaven Landry, introduced the members of the Executive.

  1. Opening Remarks

The President thanked the members for attending in such large numbers and highlighted the presence of our guests, Mr. Pierre Potvin, Director of the Quebec Region, and Ms. Stéphanie Fréchette, part-time Vice-president at PIPSC.

3. Adoption of the Agenda

Acceptance of the agenda was moved by Valérie Ringuette-Lapointe and seconded by Josée Girard.

  1. Follow-up on the minutes of the AGM of May 10, 2022 (Auberge des Deux tours)

Mr. Landry presented a summary of the report.

5. Business arising from the minutes of the AGM of May 10, 2022

No business arising from the minutes.

6. Approval of the Minutes of the AGM of May 10, 2022

The approval of the minutes was proposed by Maxime Tremblay and seconded by Christine Tremblay.

7. President’s Report

Kaven Landry reported that the Branch has approximately 170 members in 9 departments and agencies. He specified that the Executive meets 4 to 5 times a year. During these meetings, various subjects are discussed, including negotiations, mobilization, and support to members. These meetings are also a good opportunity to exchange information.

A few activities have been initiated by the members of the Executive in 2022 and it will be possible, in the coming months, to organize other activities aimed at bringing together the members of the groups (for example coffee and muffin formula, happy hour, etc.) The Branch has some financial capacity for this type of event. Kaven looked back on the very successful 2022 AGM and on the fall event that brought together a dozen members and their families.

The President noted that he sits on several committees, including the Regional Council and the Provincial Council, which allows him to discuss the concerns of the members. Kaven reminded everyone that PIPSC offers several scholarships for youth and invited members to apply.

In closing, the President thanked the members of the Executive for their involvement and support. Exchanges are essential to the sustainability of the Saguenay/Lac-Saint-Jean and Côte-Nord Branch. It is not always easy to mobilize members, but the efforts made are paying off, as evidenced by the number of participants at the 2023 AGM.

8. Vice-president’s Report

Valérie Ringuette-Lapointe introduced herself and thanked everyone for attending. She said she is motivated by the enthusiasm of the members and is looking forward to the next year with great enthusiasm.

9. Annual Financial Report of the Treasurer Sébastien Chouinard

Treasurer Sébastien Chouinard mentioned that the bank balance as of December 31, 2022, was $1,322. For the year 2023, the Branch is expected to have revenues of $4,195, minus the costs related to the 2023 AGM. A small surplus is projected at the end of fiscal year 2023 ($195).

10. Approval of the 2022 Annual Financial Report and 2023 Budget

The approval of the financial report was proposed by Réjean Guay and seconded by François Gagnon.

11. Presentation by Pierre Potvin, Quebec Region Director

Mr. Potvin warmly greeted the members and thanked them for their support. He said he was very happy to be there. He is a former military officer and has worked for many years in the Canadian public service. His primary mission is to obtain the commitment of the members. Pierre indicated that the members of the Public Service Alliance of Canada were currently on strike, and invited people to support them.

He mentioned that several topics are discussed at PIPSC, including telework and the improvement of the working conditions. Pierre pointed out that this last issue was not negotiated with the employer and that the latter acted unilaterally. Pierre invited people to attend the Regional Council meetings. Indeed, people do not have to be stewards to attend. Pierre asked the members to watch for upcoming events on social media.

12. Presentation by Stéphanie Fréchette, part-time Vice-president at PIPSC

Ms. Fréchette noted that she sits on the PIPSC Board of Directors, which has over 40 groups and 70,000 members. She works at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Stephanie confirmed to the members that the Branch’s Constitution and bylaws, which were recently amended, have been endorsed by PIPSC.

Questions for the guests:

A member asked the guests about PIPSC’s intentions for the bargaining.

Pierre Potvin mentioned that each group has a say in their proposals and strategies for negotiating with the employer.

A member asked why the Public Service Alliance of Canada chose to go on strike and not PIPSC.

Pierre Potvin mentioned that the different groups have different realities and concerns. However, some common issues are discussed at central tables.

13. Elections

President (2-year term): Valérie Ringuette-Lapointe proposed Kaven Landry. The motion was seconded by Maxime Tremblay. There were no other nominations. Kaven accepted and was elected by acclamation.

Treasurer (2-year term): Kaven Landry proposed Sébastien Chouinard. The motion was seconded by François Gagnon. There were no other nominations. Sébastien accepted and was elected by acclamation.

Four directors – 2-year terms

Martin Desgagné proposed Christine Tremblay. The motion was seconded by Audrey Bouchard. Christine accepted.

Kaven Landry proposed Steeve Tremblay. The motion was seconded by Christine Tremblay. Steeve declined.

Valérie Ringuette-Lapointe proposed Janick Lavoie. The motion was seconded by Réjean Guay. Janick accepted.

Kaven Landry proposed Joshua Mercure. The motion was seconded by François Gagnon. Joshua accepted.

Christine Tremblay proposed Martin Desgagné. The motion was seconded by Audrey Bouchard. Martin accepted.

One Director – 1-year term

Kaven Landry proposed François Gagnon. The motion was seconded by Maxime Tremblay. François accepted.

Kaven Landry proposed Karen Hrynowiecki. The motion was seconded by Sébastien Chouinard. Karen declined.

The Director was elected by acclamation.

14. Miscellaneous

No topics were covered, in this section.

15. Adjournment

The meeting ended at 8:00 p.m. (Moved by Martin Desgagné and seconded by Guillaume Lévesque.)