2023 AGM Minutes

Montreal CP Subgroup

When: Thursday, May 25th 2023
Time:   5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Lieu:    Restaurant L’Académie, 2100 Crescent in Montreal

Executive members present (position occupied):

Yanick Poulin (president)

Julie Mercier (vice-president)

Isabelle Gagné (secretary)

Alexandre Gentile (treasurer)

Claudine Morin (active member)

François Goulet (active member)

Evangelia Costamis (active member)

Regrets: Shemin Mawji (active member)

Present members :

Antoine Comtois

Samuel Dagenais

Pascale Daigneault

Sylvie Thenevin

Sophie Beaulieu

Milène Bélair

Estelle Begin-Filiatrault

Erin McManaman

Shaun McWeeney

Rita De Viti

Brigitte Kabuya

Ginette Lanteigne

Patricia Rousseau

Jessica Vingerhoeds-Carbino

Michael Bourget

Jenette Jesuratnam

Natham Lambert

Jean-François Renaud

Helene-Ramata Gagnon

Sanjay Persand

Julien Richer

Englead Antoine

France Belisle

Victor Fupuy

Saad Ibrahimy



  • Andrée Doucet, CP Group and Bargaining Team President
  • Lyne Larocque, Quebec Regional Representative and Bargaining Team Member
  • Stéphanie Fréchette, PIPSC Vice-President
  • Ray J. Paquette, CP Group Vice-President and Bargaining Team Member
  • Don Samker, Bargaining Team Member
  • Me Frédéric Durso, Labor Relations Officer

1. Opening of the AGM – 6:00 p.m.

The president calls the meeting to order.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Agenda move by Treasurer Alexandre Gentile, second by vice-president Julie Mercier. Motion carried unanimously.

3. Roll call of Executive Members

Yanick Poulin – president

Julie Mercier - vice-president

Isabelle Gagné – secretary

Alexandre Gentile – treasurer

Claudine Morin - active member

François Goulet - active member

Evangelia Costamis - active member

Shemin Mawji – active member (absent)


The president mentions there are seven (7) active member positions on the CP Montreal Sub-group with four (4) of these positions currently filled.

4. Adoption of the 2022 AGM Minutes

No question regarding the 2022 AGM Minutes. Move by Vice-president Julie Mercier, second by Treasurer Alexandre Gentile. Motion carried unanimously.

5. President Report – Yanick Poulin

Only 13 people attended the 2022 AGM, including Lyne Larocque. It was still possible to have a new Executive with 8 Executive members. The CP Montreal Subgroup organized a Holiday Season Happy Hour for its members. A donation was made to “Moisson Montreal”. The main objective remains to increase the participation of members to various union activities. The next PIPSC AGM will be held in Montreal and the CP Montreal Sub-group wishes to organize an activity to get members more familiarized with PIPSC and its structure.

6. Treasurer’s report – Alexandre Gentile

The treasurer presented the financial report, the income from the annual allocation and the expenses, particularly those related to the organization of the Holiday Season Happy Hour event, as well as the donation to a food aid organization.

The treasurer also presented the budget for the next year.

7. Presentation of the 2022 financial statement

The treasurer presented the financial results of the CP Montreal Subgroup for the year 2022.

8. Adoption of the budget for 2023.

Treasurer Alexandre Gentile presented and moved the budget for 2023, seconded by Isabelle Gagné, secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

*Adjournment of the meeting at 6:33 p.m.

*End of adjournment at 6:53 p.m.

9. CP Montreal Sub-group Executives Elections

Two (2) Executive member positions are up for election:

  • Vice-president: Alexandre Gentile proposes Julie Mercier, with the support of Claudine Morin. Julie Mercier accepted the nomination and was elected by acclamation.
  • Secretary: Isabelle Gagné offered herself with the support of Alexandre Gentile and was elected by acclamation.

Five (5) Active member positions are up for election:

  • Evangelia Costamis, with the support of
  • Saad Ibrahimy, proposed by Julie Mercier with the support of Yanick Poulin, proposal accepted.
  • Erin McManaman, with the support of Isabelle Gagné
  • Milène Bélair, with the support of Isabelle Gagné
  • Michael Bourget, proposed by Julie Mercier with the support of Claudine Mercier, proposal accepted.
  • Englead Antoine, with the support of Claudine Mercier
  • Julien Richer, proposed by Claudine Morin with the support of Nathan Lambert, proposal accepted.

* Adjournment of the meeting at 7:18 p.m.

* End of adjournment at 7:46 p.m.

Evangelia Costamis withdraws her application for an active member position.

  • François Goulet announces his resignation from his position as an active member.

All proposed members acclaimed.

New CP Montreal Subgroup Executives was confirmed by the President.

10. Question and comment periods if applicableN/A

11. VariaN/A

12. Closing remarks and adjournment of the meeting

Move by vice-president Julie Mercier, second by treasurer Alexandre Gentile. Motion carried unanimously.

Guests’ speeches: Frédéric Durso, Andrée Doucet and Lyne Larocque