The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada

Your PIPSC Bargaining Team is pleased to announce that we have reached a tentative agreement with Sunnybrook Health Sciences.

PIPSC Vote on the PIPSC SUN-MET Group Tentative Agreement – April, 2022

We’re pleased to announce that on April 12, 2022, we finalized a tentative agreement with Sunnybrook Health Sciences for a proposed three-year renewal of our collective agreement.

The Ford government’s Bill 124 imposed salary and compensation caps totaling 1% per year for 3 years of our collective agreement, including a ceiling of 1% on any increases to salary rates during each of these years. Your bargaining team was committed to bring back the best possible agreement under the circumstances.

In addition, PIPSC joined 11 Ontario unions representing more than 250,000 provincial public sector employees in a coordinated legal Charter challenge against Bill 124. Should this challenge be successful, the tentative agreement provides the ability to re-open the collective agreement for negotiation of monetary items.

This tentative agreement must now be ratified by the PIPSC SUN-MET membership.

Please ensure your membership information is up to date.

An in-person information session and secret ballot vote has been scheduled for May 10, 2022, in the Jenkin Auditorium at 12:30 PM ET.

You will find all the information below. It is important that you take the time to review everything prior to voting and prior to asking questions of the Bargaining Team.

Please review the linked documents:

A Yes vote means: You are accepting all of the changes proposed in the tentative agreement. Those changes will take place at the date of the signing (except as otherwise noted).

A No vote means: You reject the tentative agreement and instruct the PIPSC Bargaining Team to pursue further negotiations, with a high likelihood of heading to arbitration. 

Your PIPSC SUN-MET Bargaining Team unanimously recommends the acceptance of this tentative agreement.

Your PIPSC SUN-MET Bargaining Team

Karl Krohmer

Mark Stoller

David Griffin, Negotiator