November 2018

This is your voter’s kit for the election of members to the Research (RE) Group Executive for a two (2) year term - beginning on the day of the RE Annual General Meeting to be held in May or June 2019.

You will be receiving by email your electronic ballot key on November 9, 2018 and you have until 4 PM, Ottawa time, on December 7, 2018 - that is 4 weeks, as per RE Group by-law 8.6 ( – to cast your ballot.

Voting will be done by electronic means only. No paper mail-in ballots will be provided.

Please read all materials carefully to ensure that your vote will be counted.

At the close of nominations on October 12th, 2018, the RE Election Committee had received 14 valid nominations for the 13 positions on the RE Executive. Please refer to the RE Group by-law 8.4 ( for the required composition of the RE Group Executive.

According to that bylaw, each region defined in the By-Laws of the Institute and each former group within the RE Group shall be represented on the Executive by a minimum of one (1) elected member.

Therefore, Dounia Hamoutene as the only nominee from the Atlantic Region is ACCLAIMED. 

Also, as we have received no nominations from the BC/Yukon and Québec/Nunavut regions by the deadline for receipt of nominations, the Executive will appoint people to fill these positions.

The 13 candidates (in alphabetical order) for the 10 remaining positions to be filled are:

Name Class. Dept. Region
Alaee, Mehran SE Environment and Climate Change Canada Ontario
Billyard, Andrew DS National Defence Ontario
Chen, Edward J. MA Statistics Canada NCR
Emberson, Kathleen MA Statistics Canada NCR
Fowler, John DS National Defence Prairies/NWT
Hortop, Eric MA Statistics Canada NCR
Khakbazan, Mohammad SE Agriculture & Agrifood Canada Prairies/NWT
MacDonald, Emily HR Library & Archives Canada NCR
MacFarlane, John HR National Defence NCR
MacLeod, Matthew DS National Defence NCR
Nandlall, Sacha DS National Defence NCR
Tallman, Ross SE Fisheries & Oceans Canada Prairies/NWT
Turnbull, Adrienne DS National Defence NCR


Voter Eligibility

Only regular and retired members in good standing of PIPSC in the Research (RE) Group are eligible to vote in these elections. Please note that members may vote for all positions open for election, regardless of their own region or classification.

The results of the vote will be published as soon as possible after the count.

Candidate’s Résumés

Brief biographical sketches for these nominees are posted on our website.

NOTE: The résumés submitted have been reproduced without correction. The translated versions were produced by PIPSC translators.

The Research Group Election Committee 2019

Humayoun Akhtar (Chair), Christine Barrass, Peter Hoyt, Tom Ollevier, Khalid Rashid