The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada

St. John’s CS Subgroup AGM

NAFC – DFO- White Hills St. John’s

May 08, 2018 at 12:00 pm


Craig Butler, Steve Dillon, Lucille Shears, Gerard Grace, Terry Parrell, Tracey Locke, Sherry Brown, Christine Newhook, Todd Gover, Bob Comeau, Ian Burry, Harry Walsh, Scott Squires, James Vey, Ruth Grace, Gus Byrne, Todd Janes, Clayton Long,   Phillip Escott, Glen Rowsell, Paul Lawrence, Mike Lester

Invited guests – Eva Henshaw – National CS Group Executive

The meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm by Steve Dillon

Review and Adoption of Agenda

Moved by Sherry Brown, Seconded by Terry Parrell

No objections, Agenda accepted

Opening Remarks

Steve Dillon provided an update on the subgroups activities over the past year.

Review and Adoption of Minutes from previous AGM

Minutes reviewed, Motion to accept Christine Newhook, seconded by Gerard Grace

No objections, minutes passed

Financial Update

Financial report distributed for review

Financial report reviewed, Motion to accept James Vey, seconded by Christine Newhook

No objections, financial report accepted

Election of Subgroup Executive members

Eva Henshaw conducted the election

The following positions are up for election



4 member at large positions (2 year terms)


Sherry Brown nominated Steve Dillon

Steve accepted the nomination

Elected by acclimation


Tracey Locke advised she is not interested in continuing as Treasurer

Tracey nominated Sherry Brown

Sherry accepted the nomination

Elected by acclimation

Member at Large (4 positions – 2 year term)

Sherry Brown nominated Tracey Locke, Tracey accepted nomination

Steve Dillon nominated Mike Lester, Mike accepted the nomination

Lucille Shears nominated Christine Newhook, Christine accepted the nomination

James Vey nominated Ruth Grace, Ruth accepted the nomination

No other nominations put forward

All nominees were elected by acclimation

Update on Sick Leave.

Eva Henshaw provided us with an informative presentation on the Employee Wellness Support Plan (EWSP) as well as current contracting out activities
A lively discussion occurred amongst all attendees on both topics

Motion to adjourn presented by Mike Lester

Seconded by Tracey Locke

Meeting was adjourned @ 1:15 PM