To: PIPSC members at the Environment Canada-Downsview building (ECCC and SSC employees ) and the Toronto office of the CEAA

Luncheon and Annual General Meeting-2017

Date: Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Time: 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Part 1: Meeting in the Auditorium
The business part of the meeting will be held in the auditorium. See the agenda below for details.

Part 2: Luncheon at Good Morning Friends Restaurant* Note that tickets will be provided to attendees at the finish of Part 1 of the meeting in the Auditorium. You must have a ticket to attend the luncheon.

Please RSVP to:

RSVP by Sept 14 to Cynthia Whaley

* 5050 Dufferin St., Unit 124 (formally the Japanese Korean Restaurant across the street for the building)

Guest speaker: Shannon Bittman, Vice-President, PIPSC

Shannon will speak to many of the important topics effecting PIPSC members at ECCC, including scientific integrity, Phoenix, Sick Leave, bill C-27, and health and dental benefits.

The following positions on the Toronto Environment Branch are up for election:

* Treasurer

* Member-at-large: 5 positions (the Vice President and Secretary will be selected from member-at-large positions at the first meeting of the Executive after the AGM)

Executive positions are open to PIPSC members at ECCC-Downsview and at the CEAA office in Toronto. To run for a position please email:

Note that you can submit your name from the floor of the AGM. There's no need for a seconder.

The Branch bylaws are posted on the PIPSC web site.

The AGM addresses the business of the Branch along with it being a social event to encourage discussion of union issues between members, the Branch Executive, and Stewards in a relaxed atmosphere.

Since the meeting will take longer than the normal lunch period we suggest you speak to your supervisor about making up the time or taking an hour or two of vacation leave.

Current Executive and Term (11 positions):

President: Bill Sukloff (2016/17*)

Vice-President: Victor Isaac (2016/17*)

Treasurer: Amir Shabbar (2017/18)

Secretary: Cynthia Whaley (2017/18)

Member at large (7 positions): Vacant (2016/17*), Balbir Pabla (2016/17*), Qian Li (2016/17*), Dawn McDonald (2017/18), Ed Hare (2017/18), Eva Mekis (2017/18), Glen Horenblas (2017/18)

(*Position up for election)


Part 1:

1) 11:30 a.m. Business Meeting
a. Introductions
b. Review of Previous Minutes
c. Branch President's Report (update on Branch activities and Labour Management Consultation at ECCC)
d. Treasurer's Report
e. Election
i. Treasurer
ii. 7 positions Member-at-Large (Vice President and Secretary will be selected from member-at-large positions at the first Executive meeting)

2) New Business

3) 12:15 p.m. Guest speaker: Shannon Bittman, PIPSC Vice-President

Part 2:

4) 12:45 p.m. Lunch at Good Morning Friends Restaurant

5) 1:30 p.m. Adjournment