2020 Scholarship Laureates

In 2020, we awarded 57 scholarships worth a total of $86,500. To date, we’ve awarded $968,500 in scholarships to 506 students.

Thank you to the constituent bodies who funded scholarships in honour of PIPSC's 100th anniversary and thank you to all our corporate sponsors. Congratulations to all our laureates.

100th Anniversary Scholarships

$2,000 Atlantic Region Scholarship

  • Sammi Szeto (Dartmouth, NS), University of Waterloo (Ming Wai Szeto, SP)

$2,000 Quebec Region Scholarship

  • William James Dufour Doherty (Candiac, QC), Collégial international Ste-Anne (James Doherty, NR)

$2,000 Ontario Region Scholarship

  • Amanda Dierickse (Waterloo, ON), McMaster University (Jie Dierickse, AFS)

$2,000 Prairie/NWT Region Scholarship

  • Johanna Jacob (Calgary, AB), University of Alberta (Lizy Jacob (AFS)

$2,000 BC/Yukon Region Scholarship

  • Jessica Lin (Vancouver, BC), University of Pennsylvania (Grace Qi Mi Tan, AV)

$2,000 Ottawa Centreville Branch Scholarship

  • Megha Rao (Ottawa, ON), Western University (Manjunatha Rao, CS)

$2,000 Ottawa South Branch Scholarship

  • William Zhu (Ottawa, ON), Western University (Boquan Xie, CS)

$2,000 AFS Group Scholarship

  • Tami Ojewole (Edmonton, AB), University of Alberta (Mogbonjubola Yinka-Ojewole, AFS)

$2,000 CFIA-S&A Group Scholarship

  • Doyinsola Ogunremi (Ottawa, ON), University of Ottawa (Dele Ogunremi, CFIA-S&A)

$1,500 NRC-RO/RCO Group Scholarship

  • Alicia Shen (Côte Saint-Luc, QC), McGill University (Chun Fang Shen, NRC-RO/RCO)

$750 SH Group Scholarships

  • Haven Driessen (Chatham, ON), Dalhousie University (Angela Driessen, SH)
  • Hunter Hache (Pleasantville, NS), Acadia University (Alfred John Hache, SH)

$1,000 OSFI Group Scholarship

  • Aaron Cabiles (Vancouver, BC), University of British Columbia (Ahnne Cabiles, OSFI)

$1,000 Research Group Scholarship

  • Michelle Song (Wolfville, NS), McMaster University (Jun Song, RE)

$1,000 Retired Members' Guild Scholarship

  • Katie Stewart (Dartmouth, NS), Mount Allison University (Brian Wolfe, NR, PIPSC Life Member)

$500 CS Group Scholarship

  • Kevin Xie (Ottawa, ON), Western University (Wen (Karen) Du, CS)

$500 NR Group Scholarship

  • Juliana Ye (Ottawa, ON), Queen's University (Judy Yi, NR)

$500 NEB Group Scholarship

  • Grace Marshall (Calgary AB), University of Waterloo (Wayne Marshall, NEB)

$500 NRC-RO/RCO Sub-Group Scholarship

  • Meriam Zeghal (Ottawa, ON), University of Ottawa (Morched Zeghal, NRC-RO/RCO)

Founders’ scholarships

$1,000 Gerry Hunder Memorial Scholarship

  • Simona Poroshenko (Thornhill, ON), University of Toronto (Rena Rozentsvit, AFS)

$1,500 scholarship sponsored by the Computer Systems Group

  • Sharon Peng (Ottawa, ON), Western University (Jason Yuan Peng, CS)

$1,500 Scholarship

  • Omar Anany (Guelph, ON), University of Guelph (Hany Anany, RE)

$1,000 Scholarships

  • Emilie Richard (Waterloo, ON), University of Waterloo (Yves Richard, NRC-RO/RCO)
  • Meriam Zeghal (Ontario, ON), University of Ottawa (Morched Zeghal, NRC-RO/RCO)

Sponsors’ Series Scholarships

$5,000 Scholarship

  • Jeevyn Atwal (Surrey, BC), Simon Fraser University (Baljinder Atwal, CS)

$2,000 Scholarship

  • Myriam Khelifi (Québec, QC), Cégep de Sainte-Foy (Dr. Noura Ziadi, NRC-RO/RCO)

$1,500 Scholarships

  • Catriona Chan (Markham, ON) Western University (Melissa L. Lam, AFS)
  • Michelle Chow (Calgary, AB), University of Calgary (Sherry Chow, AFS)
  • Alana Gin (Ottawa, ON), St. Francis Xavier University (Margaret McKay, NRC-RO/RCO)
  • Shyla Gupta (Dartmouth, NS), Dalhousie University (Sanjeev (Sandy) Gupta, AFS)
  • Juliana Koen Alfonso (St. John's, NL), Memorial University of Newfoundland (Mariano Koen Alonso, RE)
  • Katrina Labonté (Ottawa, ON), University of Ottawa (Lisa Labonté, CS)
  • Hannah Le (Ottawa, ON), University of Ottawa (Huy Le, CS)
  • Emily Meade (St. John's NL), Memorial University of Newfoundland (James Meade, SP)
  • Rebecca Morris (Ottawa, ON), Carleton University (Brett Morris, CS)
  • Angela Pang (Markham, ON), Western University (Dr. Geordi Pang, MP) 
  • Amy Posel (Toronto, ON), Queen's University (Bonnie Posel, AFS)
  • Jennifer Shi (Ottawa, ON), McGill University (Jun Wu, CS)
  • Gina Spencer (Massey Drive, NL), Queen's University (Michael Spencer, NR)
  • Betty Zhang (Ottawa, ON), McMaster University (Hao Zhang, CS)
  • Wade Zhang (Lethbridge, AB), McGill University (Yongxiang Zhang, SP)

Boys and Girls Clubs Scholarships

$1,000 Scholarship sponsored by the Research Group

  • Jenna May (Halifax, NS), Dalhousie University

$1,500 Scholarships

  • Kaitlyn Carter (Charlottetown, PEI), University of P.E.I.
  • Alyssa Craig (Gatineau, QC), Université de Québec en Outaouais
  • Hana Dathorne (Sherwood Park, AB), University of Alberta
  • Emily Gilkes (Norris Arm, NL), Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Lenavah Hawthorne (Ottawa, ON), Algonquin College
  • Marie-Eve Lafond (Montreal, QC), Université de Montréal
  • Emmanual Ojo (Winnipeg, MB), University of Winnipeg
  • Taneisha Rogers (Yorkton, SK), University of Regina
  • Kisha Roth (Ottawa, ON), Carleton University
  • Riley Searwar (Riverview, NB), New Brunswick Community College
  • Deanna Seymour (Toronto, ON), George Brown College
  • Kowamitha Shewcharan (Toronto, ON), University of Toronto
  • Annabelle Théberge (Gatineau, QC), Université de Québec en Outaouais
  • Yaël Witvoet (Ponoka, AB), University of Alberta
  • Savannah Yambe (Vancouver, BC), Vancouver Island University
  • Caleb Yaron (Victoria, BC), University of Victoria

Our scholarships are funded by the generous contributions of individual members, constituent bodies, and by corporate sponsors.

You can help us support a new generation of young professionals and make a difference in their lives.