Notice of 98th Annual General Meeting

DATE – November 17-18, 2017

LOCATION – NCR, Gatineau, QC

HOST HOTEL / MEETING LOCATION – Hilton Lac Leamy – The Hilton will be filled on a first come, first served basis, by the first 300 registered delegates. All observers and remaining delegates will be booked at the Ramada Plaza, le Manoir du Casino Hotel (in Gatineau), overflow property.

OVERFLOW HOTEL – Ramada Plaza, le Manoir du Casino Hotel (in Gatineau)

ONLINE REGISTRATION – May 1st to July 31st, 2017 – Once notified as having been selected to attend the AGM, all Delegate and Observer have to complete the online registration form.


Group Presidents and Regional Directors must submit their list of approved Delegates/Observers to Julie Gagnon at, taking into consideration the close of registration on July 31st. Group Presidents and Regional Directors will also need to advise us of their ancillary meetings early (for delegate registration purposes).

Once the lists are received, the National Office will communicate with each Delegate/Observer by e-mail inviting them to register online. Please note that Delegates/Observers will not be able to register until an approved list has been received from the Groups and from the Regions.

All expenses incurred by Observers (travel, accommodation, salary replacement, all meals and incidentals) are the responsibility of the sponsoring Group or Region.

The number of delegates for the AGM is defined in By-Law 13 and in accordance with the 2017 delegate count.


By-Law states "No By-Law shall be enacted, repealed or amended by a General Meeting unless details of proposed changes were submitted to the Office of the Executive Secretary no later than twelve (12) weeks prior to a General Meeting." Proposed amendments to the Institute By-Laws must be submitted by August 25, 2017, by email at


By-Law states "Resolutions, in writing, must be received at the Office of the Executive Secretary not less than twelve (12) weeks before the commencement of a General Meeting." Resolutions must be submitted by August 25, 2017, by email at

AGM resolutions are first received by the Resolutions Sub-Committee (RSC), which is comprised of the following members:

N. McCune – Chair and Chair BLPC
G. Maxwell - AC Director
S. O’Reilly - Chair Finance Committee
E. Gillis – (COO & Executive Secretary, Staff Resource)
J. Gagnon – (EA to COO, Staff Resource)

The mandate of the RSC is to consolidate, monitor and clarify resolutions for submission to the AGM. The RSC is available to help and to provide advice to sponsors regarding wording to ensure clarity and compliance with Institute By-Laws and Policies. If there is a cost associated with resolutions (financial resolutions), sponsors should submit related numbers with their resolution, for review by the RSC.

To assist in the process of writing resolutions, please refer to the pocket guide “Write that Resolution” , found on the Web site or contact a member of the RSC.

As directed by the 2013 AGM, motions presented on the AGM floor will be prioritized as follows:

  • Ones brought forward by the Board of Directors, Groups and Regions will be dealt with first
  • Those brought forward by Branches and Sub-Groups be dealt with next
  • Finally, those presented by individual members


Pursuant to By-Law 14.2.1, which governs fees, notice is hereby given that a change in the basic monthly fee may be proposed at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.